Pallet Furniture: Part dos

OK, so I’ve sanded and stained the pallet sectional until I couldn’t sweat anymore. So hot.

This is the continuation of pallet furniture sectional.

IMG_0856

I left the base unstained because it would be hidden under cushions (eventually) and I didn’t want to go back to the store to get more stain.

I think the back is my favorite from where I've sanded some of the stain off to make it look a little more worn in.

I think the back is my favorite from where I’ve sanded some of the stain off to make it look a little more worn in.

So once I’ve got all that done, it took forever to decide what type and what color fabric to use for the cushions and pillows. Finally, I decided on a cream colored canvas for the cushions and a couple bold, fun prints for the pillows.

Some of the fabric choices

Some of the fabric choices

I looked EVERYWHERE for pillow inserts that weren’t $10+ each and I finally found some. Thank the Lord, Restoration Hardware was having a sale. Plus, 10% off! So I bought a whole bunch of inserts to make lots of pillows for our outdoor pallet sectional.

I used a VERY easy tutorial to sew the pillows here. I’m as beginner as they come using sewing machines and I made four pillows in one night! I used the same canvas material as the cushions for the back part of the pillows.

Coming together!

Coming together!

The cushions in the above picture are from a sectional my dad gave me forever ago. I recovered the cushions to match the rest of the outdoor furniture I’m making. The foam hasn’t come in for the pallet cushions so I’m improvising. Here is a picture of the two chairs that these lovely cushions go to:

IMG_0883They were originally an ugly brown color, tufted, and probably from the early 80s. They needed new life desperately. I’m leaving the bases for these two chairs as is. I think they go with the pallet sectional pretty well.

Once my foam comes in for the other cushions and I finish sewing the rest of the pillows, I’ll finally be done!

Check out the finished product here!!

3 thoughts on “Pallet Furniture: Part dos

  1. Pingback: Pallet Furniture: Part Tres – Finally Complete! | The Sweet Life

  2. Pingback: First things first: PALLET FURNITURE!! Part uno | The Sweet Life

Leave a Reply

