Tacos turned into nachos… not complaining

Tacos were on the menu tonight for dinner but that quickly changed to nachos once things got cooking. Carey and I could probably eat Mexican food every. single. night.

I have to vent for a second and just say that tacos are hard to eat when they break with the first bite.

So nachos it was.

These were the most delicious ground turkey nachos with refried black beans, red onions, grilled corn, sharp white cheddar, and fresh jalapenos. YUM.

ImageI WISH I had fresh cilantro to sprinkle on top after they were baked, but sadly, I killed my cilantro plant. Not on purpose of course. Carey said because I didn’t water it. Well, I did water it! Just not as often as I should. Oops.

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb. ground turkey
  • 1-2 Tbs. homemade taco seasoning (I usually double or triple this and keep it in a tupperware in the seasoning cabinet)
  • 1/2 c. corn (I used leftover grilled corn from the weekend)
  • 1 jalapeno diced
  • 1/2 red onion
  • 1 can refried black beans
  • 2 Tbs. greek yogurt
  • multigrain scoops chips
  • sharp cheddar

1. Brown the ground turkey with the seasoning. I like mine very seasoned so I used more. Add the diced jalapeno and corn to the mixture. Cook through.

2. Empty the canned beans and greek yogurt into a small sauce pan. Heat through.

3. Lay the chips out, mostly scoop side up. Layer beans, meat mixture, and red onions over the chips. Sprinkle cheese on top.

4. Bake at 350 for about 10 minutes or until the cheese is melted.

5. For the lucky ones, sprinkle with fresh chopped cilantro and sour cream after baking. YUMMMMMMM!

2 thoughts on “Tacos turned into nachos… not complaining

Leave a Reply

