Grilled pizza with homemade pesto

Um. Soooooo good.

Image

Seriously, I’m never making pizza in the oven. EVER. AGAIN. Cooking the dough on the grill is so yummy. Almost like you have your own brick oven…. almost.

Anyway, my breadmaker has a pizza dough setting. AMEN! So I used that to make the dough. If not, I’m sure you could use the canned dough or I’ve seen frozen dough at Fresh Market. You can even get fresh dough, ready to use, at Whole Foods.

I subbed half of the bread flour the breadmaker recipe calls for and used whole wheat flour. (I’m trying!) It makes a lot, so I usually split the dough in half and freeze the portion I don’t use.

Image

I rolled out the other half of the dough on my countertop with whole wheat flour sprinkled on so it wouldn’t stick. Meanwhile, my gas grill was heating up. I want it about 450°-500° when I start cooking.

Image

After the dough was rolled out, I brought everything outside.  Earlier, while the dough was still being made in my breadmaker, I prepped all the other ingredients.

Image

Ingredients:

  • homemade pesto sauce
  • canola oil for the grill (with tongs and a paper towel)
  • thinly sliced red onions
  • tomato slices
  • fresh mozarella
  • feta
  • uncured genoa salame (nitrate free!)*

I bring everything outside, and guess what? The grill isn’t hot enough yet. I guess a local brew is in order.

 Image
Canebreak is made by Parish Brewing Co. right around the corner from here, and it is super duper delicious.

Once the grill is hot enough, dip the paper towel in the oil and use the tongs to oil the part of the grill you’re going to use.

IMG_0967

Gently place the dough on the grates and cook for 2-3 minutes. I usually check after 2 minutes and rotate the pizza 180°. My grill cooks hotter in the back.

IMG_0968

Once the dough is slightly charred, carefully flip the dough over onto a sheet pan (I usually use one to bring the dough outside).

IMG_0969

Add your toppings.

IMG_0970

Oil the grill one more time, place dough back onto the grill, turn the heat down slightly, and cook for about 4-5 minutes, or until the cheese is melted. Gently slide the pizza back onto the sheet pan. Let cool slightly and cut. Thank me later, after you’ve eaten.

IMG_0971

*More on the salami: It’s Columbus Uncured Genoa Salame. I’ve read lots of nasty things about nitrates, so whenever they can be avoided, I’m all for it. This salami advertises “humanely raised”, “no antibiotics or added hormones”, “all vegetarian feeds and no animal byproducts”, and “gluten free”. I’m down.

By the end of this post, I’ve already eaten two pieces. Burt is no longer acknowledging my presence because he did not get any. Sorry, Burt.

Leave a Reply

