Roasted Vegetable Soup

Image

Healthy, vegetarian, and easy. What more could you ask for? I was perusing around Pinterest, like I always do when I’m looking for something to cook, and I decided I wanted to make vegetable soup. Carey and I are trying to eat healthier, and this recipe was my inspiration. I followed it almost. But, of course, I had to do things a little tiny bit differently.

I don’t know about you, but I can’t eat soup without some sort of bread vessel… croutons, a sandwich, whatever. So, in comes garlic black pepper croutons. You can season them with whatever you want really. Maybe add some cayenne to make them spicy!

IMG_1533

Don’t you want to sit by a fire, snuggled up, watching Lost, and eating this soup when it’s cold and rainy outside?

I do!

Hurry up, winter!

Ingredients:

  • 2 butternut squashes
  • 1 onion
  • 3 sticks of celery
  • 4 carrots
  • 2 green bellpeppers
  • 6 cloves of garlic
  • 1 large russet potato
  • 1 leek (white and green parts)
  • olive oil
  • 4 c. vegetable broth (or chicken, whatever you have is fine)
  • 2 c. water
  • 1/2 c. half and half
  • 1 tsp. red pepper flakes
  • 1/2 tsp. onion powder
  • 1/4. tsp chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp. dill weed
  • 1 pinch of cayenne
  • 1 pinch of nutmeg
  • a few dashes of hot sauce

1. Wash and chop all of the veggies into a large dice, about 1 in. cubes, so everything cooks evenly.

2. Toss with olive oil, salt, and pepper. Spread evenly on 2-3 roasting pans (I needed 3!). Roast at 400º for about 40 minutes, or until the squash and carrots are soft. Stir a few times during roasting.

3. After the veggies are roasted, add them to a large pot with the broth and spices. I used an immersion blender to mix everything. I added the water to thin the soup out as I was blending.

4. When the soup is the consistency you want, add the cream and taste for seasonings. Adjust as needed.

IMG_1528

IMG_1529

For the Black Pepper Garlic Croutons:

  • stale bread, cubed
  • 1 Tbs. olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp. garlic powder
  • freshly ground black pepper

1. Cube the bread into about 1 in. chunks.

2. Heat a skillet to medium and add the oil.

3. Toss the bread crumbs in the oil and the seasonings.

4. Be careful not to burn the bread, moving them around in the pan often.

5. Garnish your soup with these garlicky bread crumbs and sliced green onions.

IMG_1530

IMG_1531

This recipe makes a lot! It would be a good dish to make and freeze a couple zip locks for later.

One thought on “Roasted Vegetable Soup

  1. Pingback: Diabetic Friendly Recipes, Easy Vegetable Soup. -

Leave a Reply

