Wine Bottle Citronella Candles

Image

Of course, I originally saw this post on Pinterest, linked back to this site. I made a few for my patio and a few more for a party! They’re super easy and I absolutely love them. I’ve even used empty champagne bottles. Cheers!

I mean, I needed to do something productive with all my empty wine bottles…

Materials:

  • Wine bottles
  • Goo-Gone
  • 3/8″ washers
  • Tiki Torch Wicks
  • Citronella oil
  • Funnel
  • Large Safety Pins

1. First, you need to remove the labels off the wine bottles. What I found works best is soaking the bottles in the sink with dish soap and very hot water. I try to soak them overnight then peel the paper off. If there’s any residue left, I spray Goo Gone to get the rest off.

2. Fill the bottles with the citronella oil. You want it to cover at least an inch of the bottom of the wick.

3. Push the wick through the washer about 1/4 of an inch. Put the large safety pin through the wick on top of the washer to keep the wick from burning through.

4. Put the wick/washer combo onto the top of the wine bottle. Voila! Instant ambiance.

One thought on “Wine Bottle Citronella Candles

  1. Pingback: Burlap, Booze, and Babies? | The Sweet Life

Leave a Reply

