Hummus is Yummus

Image

We sure do love some hummus over here. I’ve been wanting to make homemade hummus for a while, and today I finally did. I used Alton Brown’s recipe here. I didn’t follow the recipe exactly, but I still think its good!

I mean, why did they have to stop filming Good Eats? Man, I loved that show.

Ingredients:

  • 2 16 oz. cans garbonzo beans (the recipe calls for chickpeas so I’ll try that next time)
  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • 1 1/2 tsp salt
  • 5 Tbs lemon juice
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/3 cup tahini paste (make sure you stir it up reallllllllllll good!)
  • 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • smoked paprika

1. Add the beans, garlic, and salt to the food processor. Blend for about 20 seconds, scrape the sides of the bowl down, and blend a little more.

2. Add the lemon juice and water and process for about 20 more seconds.

3. Add the tahini paste and blend even more.

4. Drizzle in the oil with the food processor on, making sure to stop and scrape down the sides as needed.

5. I added a little tiny extra water to thin the hummus out.

6. Sprinkle on a little paprika and more olive oil and eat away!

One thought on “Hummus is Yummus

Leave a Reply

