DIY Corner Hutch

Image

 I’m completely in LOVE with my new corner hutch! I’m like a building addict right now… I seriously can’t help it. I think I’ve found my calling, ya’ll! Can I quit my job now? Ok, great!

Of course, I got the plans for this piece from Ana White. And of course, I had to go rogue… just a little.

I had the idea to put a big door on the top with chicken wire, sort of like an old pie safe, but not quite. I’m absolutely obsessed with how it came out! I found the knobs at World Market and the chicken wire at Home Depot along with all the wood, hinges, screws, and nails. I also used a grey oops paint from Lowe’s that I’ve been having and Martha Stewart’s Black Coffee glaze.

Image

 I’m a terrible blogger because I’m always forgetting to take step-by-step pictures. By the time I remembered, Bridget and I had already put most of it together.

We cut the shelves out of 1x12s and the back is a 1×8. The front is 1x3s. Everything is glued and screwed together.

Image

Image

We don’t need no stinkin’ boys!

Image

 We cut and attached the bead board to the sides with screws.

Image

Image

 After adding trim to the top and bottom, we made doors using left over bead board and 1x3s.

Image

 We primed and painted it. I used an oops light grey from Lowe’s that I got for about $5.

Image

We rolled out the chicken wire and stapled it to the back of the large top door and trimmed the edges with wire cutters.

Image

OMG I LOVE IT!

Image

We added our fancy knobs and attached all the doors.

Image

Ahhhhhhh don’t you just love it, too???

Image

Check out my other DIY Buffet!

♥♥♥♥♥

Check out my etsy shop! Lots more goodies coming soon! I can also do custom orders!

Leave a Reply

