“Caprese” Salad Skewers with Balsamic Glaze

Image

Last night I threw a little dinner party for my friend’s birthday and these were on the menu as appetizers, along with lots of wine! They came out really good and not one single bite was left by the time dinner was ready. Now I know its not “technically” a caprese salad. I didn’t have any fresh basil and so a twist on the original was born. Hey, you’ve got to work with what you’ve got!

They’re super easy to make and you can even make them the night before and just drizzle the pesto and balsamic glaze on right before serving.

I used one whole carton of cherry tomatoes, cut in half, and one package of mozzarella pearls. The mozzarella pearls were already in small chunks, so less work for me!

I put a half a tomato, piece of mozzarella, half of tomato, piece of mozzarella on each skewer. I made the balsamic glaze the night before, too. I stored it in a jar in the fridge.

For the balsamic glaze:

2 cups of balsamic vinegar

1/2 cup brown sugar

Mix sugar and vinegar in a saucepan, bring to a boil, reduce to a simmer. Simmer for about 20-30 minutes until the vinegar is reduced by half. It gets thick and rich. YUM! It’s really good over more than just caprese salad skewers!

I also drizzled on some jarred pesto and sprinkled on salt and freshly cracked black pepper.

You’re welcome.

6 thoughts on ““Caprese” Salad Skewers with Balsamic Glaze

  1. I’m sooooo impressed with everything you post! So glad you are my sweet neighbor & look forward to seeing you more! Thanks for your wonderful Blog!!! Lisa

  2. Pingback: Eggplant Gratin and Mushroom Risotto – A Birthday Dinner Party | The Sweet Life

  3. Pingback: Not Your Average Backyard BBQ | The Sweet Life

Leave a Reply

