DIY Wooden Typography Sign

Image

I’ve made a couple of these signs, some typography “lists”, some not. They’re all unique and awesome and fairly easy to make.

What You’ll Need:

  • Plywood (for this particular project, I used a 27 x 18 inch piece of 1/2″ thick plywood)
  • Light colored paint
  • Stain
  • Inkjet Printer (I have an Epson 545 Workforce)
  • Gel Medium (You can use acrylic gel medium or matte medium, whatever you have or can find at Hobby Lobby, Michaels, etc)
  • Sand Paper or Electric Hand sander
  • Foam Brush
  • Small paintbrush
  • Black acrylic paint

You’ll want to start with your piece of plywood, sanded down. I used 1/2″ plywood.

Then, you’ll want to paint the board, front and back.

Image

I used a light colored oops paint from Lowe’s.

Image

Then, I wiped a super quick thin coat of Minwax “Espresso” stain over the paint after it had dried.

The next step is the tricky part. The gist of it is you print out your words or letters or whatever you want to transfer as a mirror image.

I have a Mac so I use SketchBook Express. I enter my text, then use the mirror image feature. After that, I select the word, cut, and then paste into a blank word document. At this point, the word is mirror imaged and I can make it as big or as long as I need. Then I print it out.

Image

 I trim the words out and arrange them how I’d like them to go. Next, you apply a generous layer of the gel medium to the wood and place the paper on top. Be sure to smooth out any wrinkles. You’ll then want to rub or burnish the paper in order to transfer the ink.

Image

Then, peel the paper off. If there is not enough transferred you can add more gel medium and re burnish or fill in with a little diluted black acrylic paint which is what I did here.

After your touch ups have dried, use a hand sander to sand most of the paper off. If you need to do more touch ups, you can. You just have to see what you like. Then, rub one more light coat of stain over the remaining paper. Finish with a coat of polyurethane and thats it! I’ve done all the signs below with the same method.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

If you want your very own, but don’t want to make it yourself, check out my etsy shop and let me make one for you!

3 thoughts on “DIY Wooden Typography Sign

  1. Pingback: Antiqued Wooden Signs | The Sweet Life

Leave a Reply

