DIY Upholstered Headboard 2.0

Image

It doesn’t take long for me to get bored with my interior accessories. So, as it would happen, I was tired of my headboard that I made last year. It was time to make another one. And since burlap is all the rage, that was my chosen fabric (oh and duh, it goes with everything!). It’s also way cheaper to make your own headboard, than to buy one. I spent less than $120 for everything. Of course, make use of coupons for JoAnn and Hobby Lobby! Forgive the pictures on this post, I forgot I was a blogger, once again…

Materials:

  • 1 sheet of 1/2 inch plywood for a queen sized bed (I cut mine into one piece 64″ x 31″ and two 5″ x 29″ pieces for the legs)
  • 4 flat brackets to attach the legs
  • 1 pack of twin sized batting
  • 1 inch foam squares (I used 6-7 for mine)
  • 3-5 yards of fabric, depending on width of chosen fabric
  • staples and staple gun
  • upholstery tacks or roll
  • mallet or hammer
  • needle nose pliers
  • measuring tape
  • spray adhesive

We went to Home Depot and bought a piece of 1/2 inch plywood. Nothing fancy. I have a queen sized bed that is on 6 inch risers so if you’re tackling this project on your own, adjust legs for height. We asked them to rip the plywood down to a piece that was 64″ x 31″ for the head board, and two 5″x 29″ pieces for the legs. The less cutting that I have to do, the better!

Next, we used a crawfish pot top (Southern, right?) to trace circles on the corners. I used a jigsaw to cut one side and then traced the cut out portion on the other corner.

There’s lots of headboard shapes out there.

Image

I liked the Belgrave shape because it would be easy to execute and looks fancier than just a plain old rectangle like my old headboard.

Image

So here’s my plywood with the corners cut out. Next, we attached the legs with brackets to keep it sturdy. Then, we added 1 inch foam around the whole piece, keeping a 2 inch border from the edges.

Image

We cut the foam with scissors and attached it to the wood using spray adhesive.

Next step is to cover the whole piece with batting and staple from the back. I was able to use a twin sized pack of batting to cover the entire headboard including the legs. After the batting, then do the same thing with your fabric.

Image

Make sure to cut slits in the corners to keep the edges clean!

Image

Final step is to add your upholstery tacks. God help us, but we cannot do the single tacks. So, thank you to whoever invented the rolls of upholstery tacks. God bless you. Seriously.

We did one row on the very edge of the headboard, and one row 2 inches in, where the foam starts.

Image

Unfortunately, the only bad thing about the upholstery tack rolls, is that the one tack that you nail in is a different color… boooo.

Image

Almost done!

Image

Image

Image

Image

I’m really happy with how it turned out! We also made a super fancy upholstered headboard for Bridget… which is coming soon!

One thought on “DIY Upholstered Headboard 2.0

  1. Pingback: DIY Hanging Planter | The Sweet Life

Leave a Reply

