Broccoli Cheese Soup

Image

I was perusing around Pinterest today, looking for something delicious to make and I came across this recipe. I was sucked in. No turning back now. I had to make it. Today. So I did.

I didn’t quite follow the original recipe exactly. I added a little more broccoli and instead of regular gouda, I used a goat milk gouda which gave it a little tang. I subbed regular flour for whole wheat flour, I added a little extra homemade chicken stock* and half and half to make a bigger batch, and I didn’t use any allspice because I didn’t have any. So, I used more nutmeg. It still came out amazing. It’s seriously, so good. Probably one of the best broccoli cheese soups. ever. ever. ever.

It’s chunky and vegetable-y and tangy and cheesy.

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 1 bunch of fresh broccoli
  • 1 onion
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 2 c. chicken stock or veggie stock
  • 1 c. shredded carrots
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 3 Tbs. butter
  • 3 Tbs. flour
  • 1 c. half and half
  • 1 c. goat’s milk gouda cheese
  • 1/2 c. sharp cheddar
  • 1 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1 tsp. red pepper flakes
  • 1 tsp. dried basil
  • 1 tsp. nutmeg
  • salt and freshly ground black pepper

 

1. Chop the broccoli and onions fairly small. Shred the carrots and mince the garlic.

2. Add veggies to a pot with your stock. Simmer for about 20 minutes, covered.

3. After the veggies have simmered, melt the butter and whisk in the flour into another soup pot.

4. Add the stock and veggies to the butter/flour mixture (you made a roux!). Remove the bay leaf.

5. Cook on low for about 5 minutes until the soup has thickened.

6. Remove from heat, stir in the half and half and seasonings.

7. Add the cheese and try not to eat all of it right that second.

*Let me just say that I absolutely love 100 Days of Real Food! I love the recipes there and use them often. Check it out if you haven’t and are looking to eat more real foods!

8 thoughts on “Broccoli Cheese Soup

  1. Pingback: Homemade Meat Sauce for Lasagna or Spaghetti | The Sweet Life

  2. Love love love this recipe. Came across it on Pinterest and decided to give it a go. I’ve made it quite a few times and it is now my go to broccoli cheese soup recipe ( better than Panera’s and the copycat recipes).

Leave a comment