Salad in a Jar – Mexican Style!

A salad in a jar seems to be all the rage these days. I suppose I’ll hop on the bandwagon and try it out. And of course, I’m going to make a MEXICAN SALAD!!

Image

So this is what I did, I layered: vinaigrette, sliced red onions, chopped avocado, diced tomatoes, black bean and corn quinoa, and chopped romaine lettuce.

For the vinaigrette:

Ingredients:

  • the juice of half a lime
  • about 1/4 c. olive oil
  • 1/4 tsp. cumin and onion powder
  • pinch of cayenne pepper
  • salt and pepper
  • a few dashes of red wine vinegar
  • 1 tsp. honey

* Just mix all the ingredients together and pour into the bottom of the jar. Layer the rest of the ingredients on top.

IMG_1071

I only made one, just to see how it will go. I’m a little apprehensive. I’ll update with the results!

Check out the update!!

 

2 thoughts on “Salad in a Jar – Mexican Style!

  1. Pingback: Nicoise in a Jar | teagzteagz

  2. Pingback: Salad in a Jar (Update!) | The Sweet Life

Leave a comment